Rocky Warner Closes Out Dominant KOD Sportsman Season With Win At Fonda


September 22, 2017 (Fonda, NY) – King Of Dirt Racing rolled into Fonda Speedway for the season finale in both the Small Block Modified and DIRTcar East Region divisions. When the dust settled Bobby Varin claimed his second consecutive tour victory and Rocky Warner captured his fifth of the season. Marc Johnson secured the Small Block Series title, while Rocky Warner earned the KOD/DIRTcar East championship.

Rocky Warner and Connor Cleveland led the field to the green flag with the 2015 Champion taking the lead from the 2016 Champion. Chad Edwards settled in for battle with Mark Mortensen and Dave Constantino, as they battled for position inside the top ive.

A pair of early race cautions slowed the field with Aaron Burton, Harry Shaffer, and Floyd Billington having their evenings cut short.

On the restart Edwards moved past Cleveland into the runner up spot with Constantino working the high side roaring into third. Willy Decker, Mark Mortensen, Tim Hartman Jr., and Cody Clark all raced hard for position inside the top 10.

Back up front Dave Constantino closed in on Rocky Warner for the top spot. Working through traffic they battled for the race lead, which allowed Edwards to close the gap in third. Warner would make some smooth moves in traffic and roll to the win and claim the 2017 KOD/DIRTcar East Region title. Constantino, Edwards, Cleveland, and Hartman Jr. rounded out the top five.

“Track was tough tonight and sitting on the pole you’re kind of a sitting duck, but we were able to get it done. Hazer does the point deal separated by one so you can’t breathe a lot thinking you got a big point lead, so we just do our best and Jake gives is great equipment,” said Rocky Warner after his title clinching win at Fonda.


  • 40 Sportsman checked in at Fonda for the KOD/DIRTcar East Series event.
  • Dave Constantino finished second for the third time at Fonda during the year-end race and for the second time during a KOD Sportsman race.
  • Tim Hartman Jr. has enjoyed success on the KOD tour finishing top five again this time at Fonda despite not being a full time regular.
  • Mark Mortensen was impressive all evening and raced to a solid sixth place finish.
  • Brian Pessolano brought home a top 10 for team green, with teammate Willy Decker also finishing top 10.
  • Afton Speedway track champion Cody Clark ran solidly finishing ninth.
  • With Warner’s series title he’ll go on to chase the Mr. DIRTcar Sportsman Series overall point championship, as will other competitors from the King Of Dirt Series.
  • Warner, Edwards, Sabia, and Watson all enjoyed wins on tour in 2017 and are guaranteed starts at Charlotte for the Friday night All-Star invitational during the Short Track World Championships.
  • Warner earned a guaranteed starting spot at Oswego for Super Dirt Week.

SEPTEMBER 22, 2017 KING OF DIRT RACING DIRTcar EAST SPORTSMAN SERIES SEASON FINALE PRESENTED BY 1-800-GOT-JUNK?, ANDY’S SPEED SHOP, DODSON CONSTRUCTION, & DEAN’S ELECTRICAL SERVICE AT FONDA SPEEDWAY (30 Laps) – 1) Rocky Warner, 2) Dave Constantino, 3) Chad Edwards, 4) Connor Cleveland, 5) Tim Hartman Jr., 6) Mark Mortensen, 7) Brian Pessolano, 8) Willy Decker, 9) Cody Clark, 10) Tony Farone, 11) David Manchester, 12) Scott Duell, 13) Davied Schilling, 14) Rob Maxon, 15) Cory Cromier, 16) Joe Williams, 17) Jeff Watson, 18) Josh DeMagistris, 19) Kevin Chaffee, 20) AJ Miller, 21) Floyd Billington, 22) Michael Sabia, 23) James Meehan, 24) Andrew Buff, 25) Darryl Nutting, 26) Ray Zemken, 27) Harry Shaffer II, 28) Dan Santabarbara, 29) Aaron Burton.

DNQ – Willy Decker Jr., Corey White, Mason Olmstead, Joe Orlando, Jim Osgood, Justin Auspelmyer, Will Shields, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Mike Jackson, Reggie Bonner, Griffen Mansmith.

Airondac Leather Heat Race Winners – Willy Decker, Dave Constantino, David Schilling, & Rocky Warner.
DTD Lap Leaders – Rocky Warner (1-30).
Hard Charger – Dave Constantino (+9)
Fast Axle Superior Sixth – Mark Mortensen. ($50 Certificate)
J-Tees Fast Timer – Dave Constantino (20.402)
Killer Crate Newcomer Of The Race – Mark Mortensen (6th)

2017 King Of Dirt Racing DIRTcar East Sportsman Champion – Rocky Warner

For more information on the King Of Dirt Racing Series visit on the web at

You can also find King Of Dirt via Twitter @kodracingseries or @kodracing.

Look for KOD also on Instagram @kingofdirtracing or on Facebook

Follow King Of Dirt Racing Series happenings via Instagram @kingofdirtracing.

For more information on DIRTcar Racing visit

KING OF DIRT RACING is brought to you in part by sponsors and partners that include: Albany-Saratoga Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Fonda Speedway, Lebanon Valley Speedway, Utica Rome Speedway, 1-800-GOT-JUNK?, A-1 Installers, Adirondac Leather, Andy’s Speed Shop, Beyea Custom Headers & Exhaust, Bicknell Racing Products, Bill McGaffin Photography, Bruno’s Towing & Recovery, Buff’s Auto Service, Burt’s Tree Service, Central NY Motorsports, Dean’s Electrical Service, Dirt Track Digest, DKM Fabrication, DMC Racing Products, Dodson Construction, Electric City Taxi, Elmo’s Auto Body, Elmo’s Speed Supply, Extreme Speed & Performance, Fast Axle, Fastline Performance, Flach Performance Products, Fox Racing Shocks, HICO Fabrication, Herrington Farms Inc., Hoosier Racing Tire, J-Tees Screen Printing, Lazzaro’s Auto Body, Macedon Parts Plus, Mayhem Motorsports, Moore 2 Music Entertainment, Mueller & Sons Towing/Recovery, NAPA Auto Parts Of Gloversville/Johnstown, Next Generation Roofing, PFC Brakes, R3 Graphics, Race Pro Weekly, Racers Guide, Redline Graphics, Roosevelt’s, Saratoga Masonry, Simplicity Designs, Speed’s Garage, Stone Motorsports.